Throughout nursery we plan for children’s play, learning and development using the Early Years Foundation Stage, for children from birth to five years. Effective practice throughout the nursery is guided by the four themes of the Early Years Foundation Stage. Practitioners use these themes to support the learning, development and care of our children.  The four key themes are:

A Unique Child – recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – describes how children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents/ carers and a key person.

Enabling Environments – explains that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning, both indoors and outdoors.

Learning and Development – recognises that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, and that all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

Your child’s key person will observe your child’s play and learning, in order to plan meaningful and exciting experiences for your child to develop.  We regularly ask parents to contribute to your child’s learning journey through discussions with your key person about your child’s interests, learning and development and by uploading your own photos and observations to our online Learning Journal platform (Famly).

Between the ages of two and three years, your child’s progress report is a statutory requirement and must be shared with your child’s Health Visitor to help inform your child’s 2-year-old health check. Whenever a summary or report is written for your child your Key Person will share this with you and ask for your comments and observations from home to ensure that it reflects your child’s progress both in and out of the setting. Parents can request a one to one meeting with your key person at any time to discuss your child’s development.

We plan for your child using the seven key areas of learning:

Prime areas: –

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language development
  • Physical Development

Specific areas: –

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive art and design